Mystery

A
Seven Up

If you’ve been waiting impatiently for Seven Up (the latest Stephanie Plum novel) to hit the shelves of your local bookstore, let me tell you that it’s definitely worth the wait. Even though I think I know by now the lunacy that usually comes from Stephanie’s work as a bounty hunter, recoveri ...

A
The Secret of Chimneys

If I could take only one book with me to the deserted island this would probably be it. It has everything: mystery, romance, humorous parody, a hero to remember and more twists than an album of Chubby Checker hits. I've adored The Secret of Chimneys by Agatha Christie since I was thirteen and I'm no ...

B+
Loot

Aaron Elkins has written sixteen books, but I just discovered him. My Lucky Day. While Elkins' other fifteen books deal with forensic anthropologist Gideon Oliver, Loot introduces a new leading man. Ben Revere is known as the Boston Art Cop because, as a former curator and an art historian, he h ...

A-
South of Sanity

South of Sanity is a sequel to East of Peculiar, and though I'd rate East a little higher than my fellow reviewer did (probably a B), I liked South even more. While Ms. Ledbetter's humor is not as raucous, this one will appeal to fans of Stephanie Plum or Linda Howard's Mr. Perfect. ...

C+
The Last Lover

Sally Harrington, introduced in Exposé, returns in what is a hard-to-classify novel. It's a mystery, which echoes some of the humor of Evanovich and Cruisie, by an author who more recently has been doing romantic suspense. Set in the world of national news stations (a la CNN) The Last Lover also br ...

B-
Dust to Dust

Dust to Dust is set in the middle of a Minneapolis winter. If you've ever experienced a winter in the upper Midwest, you know how this book feels. People pull in on themselves. Every house is hunkered down to protect itself from the elements. The nights are long, and sunlight is at a premium. The se ...

A-
Mandarin Plaid

Lydia Chin thought her latest case was going to be fairly simple. All fashion designer Genna Jing asked her to do was drop off the ransom so she could retrieve her stolen designs in time for her upcoming showing. At least it looked very simple. But the drop goes terribly awry, shots are fired, and L ...

A
Hot Six

It must be hell to be Janet Evanovich - writing the funniest books to ever hit the shelves of a bookstore and having to outdo yourself (and succeeding) each time. Not to mention the millions of fans waiting for each book, snapping it off the shelves and immediately demanding the next one. Well, ...

C
Code of Vengeance

Everyone loved Boston's favorite politician, Philip Stewart. Everyone, that is except the person who murdered him. When the councillor is found shot to death in his home, shock waves ripple through Boston. The police are stumped. There are no witnesses, no clues and no one can think of any reaso ...

A
The Lord Peter Wimsey Series

On my desert island I will of course have many books from many genres. There is one detective series I simply must have and that is the Lord Peter Wimsey series by Dorothy L. Sayers. Lord Peter is, hands down, one of my favorite fictional characters ever and one whom his author took through a remark ...