Mystery

B-
Tracking Time

I worked in a mystery bookstore for ten years. I started during a boom time when female authors were writing female protagonists like never before and reveled in that fact. Though I'm not sure why, one author that somehow always remained in the TBR category was Leslie Glass. Glass's series prota ...

B-
The Sibyl In Her Grave

Many mysteries have used as their backdrop one of those quaint English villages that seem only to exist on BBCA, PBS, and A&E mini-series. If you are fond of cozy mysteries in quaint villages, you can find one in Sarah Caudwell's The Sibyl in her Grave London barrister Julia Larw ...

D
Crime Brulee

Recipe for a Food Mystery: 1 dash missing person 1 cup New Orleans atmosphere 2 cups New Orleans cooking Cut 1 cup investigation of missing person with 1 pound of talk about cuisine of New Orleans Season with a smidgen of action and suspense Stir ingre ...

A
Seven Up

If you’ve been waiting impatiently for Seven Up (the latest Stephanie Plum novel) to hit the shelves of your local bookstore, let me tell you that it’s definitely worth the wait. Even though I think I know by now the lunacy that usually comes from Stephanie’s work as a bounty hunter, recoveri ...

A
The Secret of Chimneys

If I could take only one book with me to the deserted island this would probably be it. It has everything: mystery, romance, humorous parody, a hero to remember and more twists than an album of Chubby Checker hits. I've adored The Secret of Chimneys by Agatha Christie since I was thirteen and I'm no ...

B+
Loot

Aaron Elkins has written sixteen books, but I just discovered him. My Lucky Day. While Elkins' other fifteen books deal with forensic anthropologist Gideon Oliver, Loot introduces a new leading man. Ben Revere is known as the Boston Art Cop because, as a former curator and an art historian, he h ...

A-
South of Sanity

South of Sanity is a sequel to East of Peculiar, and though I'd rate East a little higher than my fellow reviewer did (probably a B), I liked South even more. While Ms. Ledbetter's humor is not as raucous, this one will appeal to fans of Stephanie Plum or Linda Howard's Mr. Perfect. ...

C+
The Last Lover

Sally Harrington, introduced in Exposé, returns in what is a hard-to-classify novel. It's a mystery, which echoes some of the humor of Evanovich and Cruisie, by an author who more recently has been doing romantic suspense. Set in the world of national news stations (a la CNN) The Last Lover also br ...

B-
Dust to Dust

Dust to Dust is set in the middle of a Minneapolis winter. If you've ever experienced a winter in the upper Midwest, you know how this book feels. People pull in on themselves. Every house is hunkered down to protect itself from the elements. The nights are long, and sunlight is at a premium. The se ...

A-
Mandarin Plaid

Lydia Chin thought her latest case was going to be fairly simple. All fashion designer Genna Jing asked her to do was drop off the ransom so she could retrieve her stolen designs in time for her upcoming showing. At least it looked very simple. But the drop goes terribly awry, shots are fired, and L ...