Midweek Minis

Here’s another in our occasional series of mini reviews in which AAR staffers talk about what they’ve read lately.  Not all these books are romances (although most of them are), and some were obviously more well-received than others. Here’s what Kristen, Lisa, Maggie, Maria Rose, Melanie have to say about their recent reads.


Kristen:

We Were On A Break by Lindsey Kelk

This one is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella – the humor and cultural settings are very similar. Liv and Adam’s Mexican holiday is sure to end in an engagement, or so Liv thinks. They’ve been dating for an age and surely, SURELY, he wouldn’t take her from England to Mexico without a real purpose, right? Well, imagine her shock when instead of giving her a ring, he asks for a pause. Dejected, confused, and heartbroken, they head back to the UK and to their separated lives.

One of this book’s strength […]

By | 2017-05-24T17:34:00+00:00 March 22nd, 2017|Categories: Kristen D, Maggie AAR, Maria Rose, Melanie AAR, Mini reviews, Reading, Romance reading|Tags: |5 Comments

Long May She Reign: A Roundtable Discussion

Freya might be in the line of succession to the throne, but being in the double-digits in that line doesn’t inspire dreams of ruling. She’s dedicated herself to a life of science and logic, not of leadership and diplomacy. When a state dinner becomes the location of a massacre, leaving the king and everyone else between #2 and #22 dead, Freya has no choice but to step up.

As you can imagine, almost no one is happy about this turn of events – least of all Freya – but she is determined to do her best. This means looking at old allies with new eyes and learning other lessons along the way Rhiannon Thomas’ Long May She Reign is a rarity in the world of YA Fantasy – a stand-alone novel – and AAR Staffers Melanie, Shannon, and Kristen are here to share their thoughts about it.


SD: Let’s start out talking about the […]

By | 2017-06-23T08:30:00+00:00 March 11th, 2017|Categories: AAR Shannon, Kristen D, Melanie AAR, Reading, Roundtable|2 Comments

Amanda Bouchet’s A Promise of Fire: A Roundtable Discussion

a promise of fire

Catalia “Cat” Fisa lives disguised as a soothsayer in a traveling circus. She is perfectly content avoiding the danger and destiny the Gods-and her homicidal mother-have saddled her with. That is, until Griffin, an ambitious warlord from the magic-deprived south, fixes her with his steely gaze and upsets her illusion of safety forever.

Griffin knows Cat is the Kingmaker, the woman who divines the truth through lies. He wants her as a powerful weapon for his newly conquered realm-until he realizes he wants her for much more than her magic. Cat fights him at every turn, but Griffin’s fairness, loyalty, and smoldering advances make him increasingly hard to resist and leave her wondering if life really does have to be short, and lived alone.

available at Amazon, iBooks, Kobo, Barnes and Noble

 

AAR staffers Melanie, Mary and Shannon read – and enjoyed – this new fantasy romance from début author Amanda Bouchet.


First […]

By | 2017-06-23T08:30:07+00:00 August 5th, 2016|Categories: Books, Books with Buzz, Mary AAR, Melanie AAR, Romance reading, Roundtable, Shannon AAR|Tags: , , , |Comments Off on Amanda Bouchet’s A Promise of Fire: A Roundtable Discussion

Deadly Peril: An Audio DIK

Narrated by Alex Wyndham

We first meet Alec Halsey in Lucinda Brant’s Deadly Engagement, where he investigates the death of a friend, and then again in Deadly Affair, with another murder and a mystery. Now, Alec is dealing with something completely different – his diplomatic past and the imprisonment and torture of his good friend Sir Cosmo Mahon and the young Emily St. Neots. Picking up basically right where the previous book left off, the reader follows Alec into Midanich, a small Germanic principality at civil war and ruled by madness, both in its populace and its Margrave.

Alec packs up immediately and, along with his love, Selina, uncle, aunt and assorted servants, heads out to the one place he wanted to never to see again. His past has definitely come back to haunt him, and now not only does he have to face it, he has to tell Selina about it […]

By | 2017-06-23T08:30:10+00:00 May 3rd, 2016|Categories: audio books, DIK, Melanie AAR|Tags: , |Comments Off on Deadly Peril: An Audio DIK

Amanda Bouchet’s A PROMISE OF FIRE – a Roundtable Discussion

a promise of fireAAR staffers Melanie, Shannon and Mary recently read Amanda Bouchet’s A Promise of Fire. They share their thoughts on what they’ve agree is a very strong début novel.

Catalia “Cat” Fisa lives disguised as a soothsayer in a traveling circus. She is perfectly content avoiding the danger and destiny the Gods-and her homicidal mother-have saddled her with. That is, until Griffin, an ambitious warlord from the magic-deprived south, fixes her with his steely gaze and upsets her illusion of safety forever.

Griffin knows Cat is the Kingmaker, the woman who divines the truth through lies. He wants her as a powerful weapon for his newly conquered realm-until he realizes he wants her for much more than her magic. Cat fights him at every turn, but Griffin’s fairness, loyalty, and smoldering advances make him increasingly hard to resist and leave her wondering if life really does have to be short, and lived alone.


What did you think of the book overall?   Is it […]

By | 2017-06-23T08:30:11+00:00 April 4th, 2016|Categories: AAR Shannon, Books, Mary AAR, Melanie AAR, Romance, Roundtable|Comments Off on Amanda Bouchet’s A PROMISE OF FIRE – a Roundtable Discussion

A Roundtable Discussion on Lost Among the Living

Today, AAR Reviewers Maggie, Caz, Mary, Linniegayl and Melanie have AAR’s first ever Round Table Discussion. The book chosen is Simone St. James Lost Among the Living. Ms. St. James is a popular author with AAR staff having made several Top Ten lists in 2015 as well as having two DIK reviews on our site. Lost Among the Living is her most recent release and one that has been eagerly anticipated by many. […]

Are you reading the Mary Russell series? Because it’s great.

Has anyone here not read the Mary Russell series yet? If so, stop now and go find yourself a copy of The Beekeeper’s Apprentice and meet young Mary Russell, 15 years old and orphaned, and snarking at a much older Sherlock Holmes who has retired to Sussex and beekeeping. Pulling heavily from Doyle’s representation of Sherlock Holmes (and still acknowledging both Doyle and Watson as fiction writers and creators of the world’s view of Sherlock Holmes), Laurie R. King has given us a new character, and a new perspective, in the great wide world of Sherlock fanworks. […]

March Minis

It’s another edition of the midweek minis. This time we have Melanie, Heather, and Dabney assessing seven books.

Have you read any of these? We’d love to know your thoughts in the comments!


Heather’s reads:
Maybe it’s the colder weather, but I find I am suddenly in the mood to dive into historicals. I love the kind you can really get lost in. You know the ones where you have to blink a few times when you stop reading to remember where you are and what century it is? Or is that just me?

The Turncoat by Donna Thorland transported me to Revolutionary War era Philadelphia, in which a young Quaker woman masquerades as a Tory Loyalist in order to funnel information to General Washington. She finds herself caught between two cousins on the opposite side of the conflict, developing genuine feelings for the person whom she must betray.

Rich in historical […]

By | 2017-06-23T08:30:11+00:00 March 17th, 2016|Categories: Dabney AAR, Heather AAR, Melanie AAR, Mini reviews|21 Comments

The Captive Prince Series (and my love affair with online fiction)

I’ve been reading online fiction since it was a thing, and I don’t mean ebooks. Like most of my friends, I started with fanfiction, and then found the absolute wealth of stories people post online. The thing is, if you were looking for any kind of m/m romance in the late 90s/early 2000s, that was basically your only option. Gay fiction was “literature”, and definitely not romantic. Frequently dealing with social issues, the AIDS epidemic, and other gay-specific issues, it just wasn’t what I was looking for. I wanted actual romance novels, just with a hero and a hero instead of a hero and a heroine. M/M romance didn’t really take off until closer to 2005, and even then, it was fairly slow and definitely niche to start with. You have no idea just how happy I am that it has taken off as a genre of its own, with amazing authors getting well-deserved recognition.

I’m adding C.S. Pacat to that list […]

By | 2017-06-23T08:30:12+00:00 February 2nd, 2016|Categories: Melanie AAR|Tags: , , , |4 Comments