All About Romance has long offered a number of Special Title Listings of various types of romance. This If You Like… page is here to assist readers who enjoy the particular styles of some lead authors in discovering other similar and perhaps lesser-known authors. Most of these authors are hyperlinked. Click on the link for an author, and you will access that author’s main page at AAR.

We understand this may be confusing; after all, you might click on the link for Jo Beverley if you like Mary Balogh thinking you’ll be on page for one of Beverley’s Regency-set historicals when in fact you’ll end up at a review for one of her Medievals instead. We’re sorry; this is not a perfect system. We hope one day it will be, when our database is completed. As it is now, an author’s “main page” may be an interview, a write byte, or the author’s best review. Regardless, at the bottom of that main page are links to everything AAR has on that author. Some authors’ names, such as J. D. Robb, are pseudonyms, and the link will take you to the real name or the best known pseudonym of that author; in this case, Nora Roberts.

The companion page to this If You Like… (By style) page is the If You Like… (By setting or genre) page. The setting/genre page is designed to help you find authors who write in a specific time period and setting, such as Regency England, or who write a specific type or sub-genre of romance, such as Chick Lit.

While we’ve offered an If You Like… page for a number of years, what you see on the two new If You Like… pages represents a revamping undertaken by AAR Reviewer Rachel Potter during the spring and summer of 2002. As a librarian in her “real” life, she has found Reader’s Advisories quite helpful and has worked with staff and readers to create AAR’s version of the Reader’s Advisory. If you have a suggestion for either page or disagree with any of the comparisons, feel free to contact Rachel, but please remember that both pages are lists of suggestions for further reading and not guarantees that these authors will read exactly the same.

If you like Mary Balogh, tryJo Beverley Nancy ButlerLiz Carlyle Elisabeth FairchildDiane Farr Marjorie FarrellTracy Grant Candice HernCarla Kelly Edith LaytonMary Jo Putney Karen RanneyJoan WolfIf you like Suzanne Brockmann, trySusan Andersen Beverly Barton’s Protectors seriesFiona Brand Justine Davis’s Trinity Street West seriesDee Henderson (writes inspirationals) Linda HowardMerline Lovelace Lindsay McKennaJ.D. Robb Kathryn Shay’s America’s Bravest series If you like Sandra Brown’s romantic suspense, tryCatherine Coulter Jasmine CresswellTami Hoag Kay Hooper Linda Howard Iris Johansen Karen Robards Nora Roberts Meryl SawyerIf you like Jennifer Crusie, trySusan Andersen Mary Kay AndrewsStephanie Bond Jan FreedJanet Evanovich Rachel GibsonJane Graves Jane HellerIf you like Janet Evanovich, tryMary Kay Andrews Nancy BartholomewJennifer Crusie Laurell K. HamiltonSparkle Hayter Lauren HendersonSuzann Ledbetter Sarah StrohmeyerIf you like Helen Fielding, tryJenny Colgan Mike GayleJane Green Nick HornbyLisa Jewell Marian Keyes Josie Lloyd & Emlyn Rees Jennifer WeinerIf you like Diana Gabaldon, tryKage Baker Marion Zimmer BradleyElizabeth Chadwick Eileen CharbonneauSara Donati Dorothy DunnettBarbara Erskine Laurell K. HamiltonKaren Marie Moning Anya Seton Paullina Simons Connie WillisIf you like Julie Garwood, tryVictoria Alexander Jill BarnettElizabeth Elliott Johanna LindseyKinley MacGregor Barbara MetzgerKasey Michaels Rebecca PaisleyAmanda Quick Julia QuinnDeborah SimmonsIf you like Laurell K. Hamilton, tryKelley Armstrong Donna BoydDiana Gabaldon Charlaine HarrisSusan Sizemore Wen SpencerIf you like Lorraine Heath, tryMerline Lovelace Cheryl ReavisCheryl St. John Gayle Wilson If you like Georgette Heyer, tryLois McMaster Bujold Loretta ChaseMarion Chesney Clare DarcyMarian Devon Carola DunnDiane Farr Emma JensenSharon Lee & Steve Miller Anthea MalcolmSheri Cobb South Patricia VeryanP. G. WodehouseIf you like Linda Howard, trySusan Andersen Beverly BartonFiona Brand Suzanne BrockmannSandra Brown Tami HoagMichelle Jerott Karen RobardsNora RobertsIf you like Carla Kelly trySheila Bishop Diana BrownMarjorie Farrell Lorraine HeathEdith Layton Elizabeth MansfieldLaura Matthews Cheryl ReavisGayle WilsonIf you Laura Kinsale, tryMegan Chance Eileen CharbonneauJudy Cuevas/Judith Ivory Sharon & Tom CurtisJean Ross Ewing/Julia Ross Patricia GaffneyKathleen Gilles Seidel Sharon ShinnPenelope WilliamsonIf you like Lisa Kleypas, tryAdele Ashworth Connie BrockwayLiz Carlyle Loretta Chase Gaelen Foley Nicole Jordan If you like Jayne Ann Krentz, tryJulie Garwood Dara JoyStephanie Laurens Nora Roberts MacKenzie TaylorIf you like Johanna Lindsey, tryJude Deveraux Julie GarwoodStephanie Laurens Elizabeth LowellKinley MacGregor Karen RobardsIf you like Elizabeth Lowell, tryCatherine Anderson Catherine Coulter Linda Howard Stephanie LaurensDiana Palmer Sandra BrownIf you like Judith McNaught, tryJude Deveraux Barbara FreethyTeresa Hill Lisa KleypasJulia London Dinah McCall/Sharon SalaMarilyn Pappano Karen Robards (historicals)Mariah StewartIf you like Pamela Morsi, tryGeralyn Dawson Stef Ann HolmSusan Kay Law Stephanie MittmanMaggie Osborne LaVyrle SpencerIf you like Susan Elizabeth Phillips, trySusan Andersen Elizabeth BevarlyClaire Cross Rachel GibsonTrish Jensen Julie OrtolonChristie RidgwayIf you like Mary Jo Putney, tryAdele Ashworth Mary BaloghJo Beverley Connie BrockwayLoretta Chase Christina DoddDanelle Harmon Lisa KleypasIf you like Julia Quinn, tryVictoria Alexander Suzanne EnochKaren Hawkins Sabrina JeffriesStephanie Laurens Amanda QuickIf you like J. D. Robb, trySuzanne Brockmann Charlaine Harris‘s Lily Bard mysteries Sharon Lee & Steve Miller Barbara Paul’s Marian Larch mysteriesDavid Weber’s Honor Harrington seriesIf you like Nora Roberts, trySusan Andersen Suzanne BrockmannSandra Brown Barbara DelinskyLinda Howard Michelle JerottJayne Ann Krentz Elizabeth LowellEmilie Richards Anne Stuart (contemporaries)If you like Deborah Smith, tryGeorgia Bockoven Robyn CarrKathleen Eagle Barbara FreethyKristin Hannah Kathleen Gilles SeidelBarbara Samuel/Ruth Wind If you like LaVyrle Spencer, tryCatherine Anderson Barbara BrettonKathleen Eagle Alexis HarringtonLorraine Heath Sandra KittDebbie Macomber Curtiss Ann MatlockPamela Morsi Maggie OsborneIf you like Ruth Wind’s series romances, tryJustine Davis Judith DuncanKate Hathaway Janice K. JohnsonVirginia Kantra Rachel LeeTara Taylor Quinn Cheryl ReavisPaula Detmer RiggsIf you like Joan Wolf, tryMary Balogh Sheila BishopDinah Dean Mary Jo PutneySheila Simonson

If You Like…(By Setting or Genre)Issue #143 of At the Back Fence: AAR Style PollAlternate Version of Issue #143 of At the Back Fence (Sans Border)Email Rachel with your individual suggestions and/or disagreementsRead about Rachel

Graphics adapted from Rom-Cen

Powered by counter.bloke.com