If You Like…(By Author/Style)

(Originally created in 1996, revamped in 2002, last updated April 15, 2010)

| If You Like (By Author/Style) | If You Like (By Setting/Genre) |

All About Romance has long offered a number of Special Title Listings of various types of romance. This If You Like… page is here to assist readers who enjoy the particular styles of some lead authors in discovering other similar and perhaps lesser-known authors. Please remember that both pages are lists of suggestions for further reading and not guarantees that these authors will read exactly the same.

Many of the authors listed on this page are hyperlinked to articles or interviews at AAR. If you’re interested in any reviews we may have online, use our reviews database on the bottom left of this page.

The companion page to this If You Like… (By style) page is the If You Like… (By setting or genre) page. The style page is designed to assist readers who enjoy the particular styles of some lead authors in discovering other similar and perhaps lesser-known authors.

.

If You Like This Author. . .                               Then We Suggest You Consider These Authors

Robyn Carr
Kathleen Eagle
Stef Ann Holm
Kristin Hannah
Curtiss Ann Matlock
Debbie Macomber
Pamela Morsi

Maggie Osbourne
Sharon Sala
LaVyrle Spencer
Cheryl St. John
Jodi Thomas
Susan Wiggs

Jo Beverley
Nancy Butler
Liz Carlyle
Elisabeth Fairchild
Diane Farr
Marjorie Farrell
Tracy Grant

Candice Hern
Carla Kelly
Edith Layton
Mary Jo Putney
Karen Ranney
Joan Wolf

Susan Andersen
Beverly Barton‘s Protectors
Fiona Brand
Justine Davis’s Trinity Street West series
Cindy Gerard
Linda Howard
Tara Janzen

Merline Lovelace
Catherine Mann
Lindsay McKenna
Marliss Melton
Kathryn Shay‘s America’s Bravest series
Roxanne St. Claire
Anne Stuart
J.R. Ward

Sandra Brown

Catherine Coulter
Tami Hoag
Kay Hooper
Linda Howard
Iris Johansen

Elizabeth Lowell
Karen Robards
Nora Roberts
Karen Rose
Meryl Sawyer

Connie Brockway
Marsha Canham
Madeline Hunter
Janet Evanovich
Jo Goodman

Elizabeth Hoyt
Eloisa James
Julia Quinn
Hope Tarr
Penelope Williamson

Connie Brockway
Marsha Canham
Madeline Hunter
Janet Evanovich
Jo Goodman

Elizabeth Hoyt
Eloisa James
Julia Quinn
Hope Tarr
Penelope Williamson

Susan Andersen
Mary Kay Andrews
Stephanie Bond
Janet Evanovich
Jan Freed

Rachel Gibson
Jane Graves
Jane Heller
Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Catherine Todd

Mary Kay Andrews
Jennifer Crusie
MaryJanice Davidson
Laurell K. Hamilton
Charlotte Hughes

Suzann Ledbetter
Lisa Lutz
Sarah Strohmeyer
Kathy Hogan Trocheck

Lori Handeland
Dara Joy
Sherrilyn Kenyon
Angela Knight
Stephanie Laurens

Shannon McKenna
Karen Marie Moning
Maggie Shayne
Lynn Viehl

Helen Fielding

Jenny Colgan
Mike Gayle
Jane Green
Nick Hornby
Lisa Jewell

Marian Keyes
Sophie Kinsella
Josie Lloyd and Emlyn Rees
Jennifer Weiner
Elizabeth Young

Diana Gabaldon

Kage Baker
Marion Zimmer Bradley
Elizabeth Chadwick
Eileen Charbonneau
Sara Donati
Dorothy Dunnett
Barbara Erskine
Laurell K. Hamilton

Robin Hobb
Juliet Marillier
Karen Marie Moning
Sharon Kay Penman
Anya Seton
Paullina Simons
Connie Willis

Victoria Alexander
Jill Barnett
Elizabeth Elliott
Johanna Lindsey
Kinley MacGregor
Barbara Metzger

Kasey Michaels
Rebecca Paisley
Amanda Quick
Julia Quinn
Lynsay Sands
Deborah Simmons

Kelley Armstrong
Nancy Baker
L.A. Banks
Donna Boyd
Patricia Briggs
Emma Bull
Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files series
Rachel Caine
Nancy Collins

Diana Gabaldon
Charlaine Harris
Kim Harrison
Mercedes Lackey
Richelle Mead
C.E. Murphy
J.D. Robb
Wen Spencer

Merline Lovelace
Cheryl Reavis

Cheryl St. John
Gayle Wilson

Lois McMaster Bujold
Loretta Chase

Marion Chesney
Clare Darcy
Marian Devon
Carola Dunn
Diane Farr

Emma Jensen
Sharon Lee and Steve Miller
Anthea Malcolm
Sheri Cobb South
Patricia Veryan
P. G. Wodehouse

Susan Andersen
Beverly Barton
Fiona Brand
Suzanne Brockmann
Tara Janzen
Michelle Jerott
Catherine Mann

Shannon McKenna
Karen Robards
Nora Roberts
Annie Solomon
Roxanne St. Claire
Anne Stuart

Diana Brown
Nicola Cornick
Elisabeth Fairchild
Diane Farr
Anne Gracie
Julia Justiss

Laurie R. King
Elizabeth Mansfield
Cheryl Reavis
Gayle Wilson
Joan Wolf

Megan Chance
Judy Cuevas/Judith Ivory
Jean Ross Ewing/Julia Ross
Patricia Gaffney
Roberta Gellis
Eloisa James

Lydia Joyce
Pam Rosenthal
Kathleen Gilles Seidel
Sharon Shinn
Katherine Sutcliffe

Lisa Kleypas‘s historicals

Gaelen Foley
Nicole Jordan
Julie Anne Long
Teresa Medeiros

Jayne Ann Krentz

Julie Garwood‘s contemporaries
Dara Joy
Stephanie Laurens

Nora Roberts
Marianne Stillings
Anne Stuart

Johanna Lindsey

Jude Deveraux
Jane Feather
Julie Garwood
Stephanie Laurens

Elizabeth Lowell
Kinley MacGregor
Karen Robards

Debbie Macomber

Barbara Cartland
Linda Lael Miller

Betty Neels
Essie Summers

Jude Deveraux
Barbara Freethy
Teresa Hill
Lisa Kleypas
Julia London

Julie Anne Long
Dinah McCall/Sharon Sala
Marilyn Pappano
Karen Robards’s historicals
Mariah Stewart

Pamela Morsi

Geralyn Dawson
Kristin Hannah
Stef Ann Holm
Susan Kay Law

Stephanie Mittman
Maggie Osborne
Luanne Rice
LaVyrle Spencer

Diana Palmer

Janet Dailey
Lynne Graham
Linda Howard
Iris Johansen
Joan Johnston

Miranda Lee
Johanna Lindsey
Elizabeth Lowell
Michelle Reid

Susan Elizabeth Phillips

(Click here for other reader suggestions)

Susan Andersen
Kate Angell
Elizabeth Bevarly
Jennifer Crusie
Susan Donovan
Elaine Fox
Rachel Gibson
Jane Graves
Jennifer Greene

Julie James
Robin Kaye
Lisa Kleypas‘s contemporaries
Deirdre Martin
Marsha Moyer
Julia Quinn
Christie Ridgway
Deborah Smith
Robin Wells

Adele Ashworth
Mary Balogh
Jo Beverley
Connie Brockway
Loretta Chase
Christina Dodd

Tracy Grant
Danelle Harmon
Laura Kinsale
Lisa Kleypas
Gayle Wilson

Victoria Alexander
Heather Cullman
Suzanne Enoch
Karen Hawkins

Sabrina Jeffries
Stephanie Laurens
Cathy Maxwell
Amanda Quick

Susan Andersen
Suzanne Brockmann
Sandra Brown
Barbara Delinsky
Linda Howard

Michelle Jerott
Jayne Ann Krentz
Elizabeth Lowell
Emilie Richards
J.D. Robb
Anne Stuart

Deborah Smith

Georgia Bockoven
Lisa G. Brown
Robyn Carr
Kathleen Eagle

Barbara Freethy
Kristin Hannah
Kathleen Gilles Seidel
Barbara Samuel/Ruth Wind

Ruth Wind’s
series romances

Justine Davis
Judith Duncan
Kate Hathaway
Janice K. Johnson
Virginia Kantra

Rachel Lee
Tara Taylor Quinn
Cheryl Reavis
Paula Detmer Riggs

Kathleen E. Woodiwiss

Jennifer Blake
Rebecca Brandewyne
Shirley Busbee
Jude Deveraux
Johanna Lindsey

Laurie McBain
Christine Monson
Rosemary Rogers
Jennifer Wilde

If You Like…(By Setting or Genre)

Issue #143 of At the Back Fence: AAR Style Poll