Reviews by Maggie Boyd

B+
One Step Too Far

One Step Too Far is the second book in Lisa Gardner’s Frankie Elkin series. You don’t have to read the first novel (Before She Disappeared) to follow this one, but it does contain spoliers for the previous book.As wild bachelor parties go, it wasn’t much of one. Just some guys, some brews, ...

B
My Darling Husband

Jade Lasky knows she’s in danger. She has seen the guy with the scarred face and man bun far too often for it to be a coincidence. But when she calls her husband Cam to report her concerns, he is dismissive. Atlanta might not be a small town but Jade is a stay-at-home mom who follows the same rout ...

D+
The Hawthorne School

The Hawthorne School is a debut novel listed as being perfect for fans of Riley Sager. Having given a DIK to Ms. Sager’s most recent novel I was naturally anxious to pick up this one. Unfortunately, it did not live up to the hype.Claudia is a single mother whose young son Henry is beyond chall ...

B
Single Black Female

Single Black Female is a story about American life and how the color of your skin impacts what that’s like.Ivy Donovan has been completely loyal to her man, Michael, during the many years he has been in prison. She has been putting his needs and wants before her own, working hard to make a suc ...

B
Someone Perfect

Someone Perfect is the ninth novel in Ms. Balogh’s Westcott series. Characters from the previous volumes are spoken of and a few make appearances in this tale, especially the hero and heroine of Someone to Care. While you don’t have to have read those other works to enjoy this one, purists may w ...

B+
The Singles Table

The Singles Table is the whimsical, warm-hearted third novel in Sara Desai’s Marriage Game series. Each book stars members of the very large and extended Patel family but you do not have to have read any of the previous volumes to enjoy this one.Zara Patel is determined never to marry. That do ...

B
The Christmas Bookshop

The Christmas Bookshop is a sweet, holiday offering about a woman finding the place she was always meant to be. It is loosely tied to Jenny Colgan’s Kirrinfief series and fans familiar with those volumes will recognize some of the characters - and plot motifs - from those books in this narrative. ...

B
The Fastest Way to Fall

 The Fastest Way to Fall is Denise Williams’ funny and charming second romance novel. While characters from her début How to Fail at Flirting make an appearance here, you don’t have to read that volume to enjoy this one.Britta Colby has spent four years as an editorial assistant at Best Li ...

B+
Just Haven't Met You Yet

Just Haven’t Met You Yet is a charming and humorous tale about how life can upend our expectations and deliver unexpected joy in doing so. Readers should be warned, however, that the back blurb is perhaps a tad misleading as to just what happens when our heroine sets off on a quest to find her HEA ...

A-
Once More Upon a Time

Once More Upon a Time is a completely captivating, charming and comedic fairy tale novella about what happens after you find what is supposed to be your happily ever after.Imelda is one of the twelve dancing princesses. Contrary to popular belief, she and her sisters had good cause to wear their ...